Back to AI tools
MCP serverNot statedECADManufacturingVerification

kicad-claude-mcp

MCP server giving AI clients direct tools to edit KiCad schematics and PCBs, run Freerouting-based autorouting and ERC/DRC, and export fab packages.

Facts

Builder
Greg3001
License
Not stated
Connects to
KiCad

Repository stats

Stars
5
Last push
2026-10-23
Latest release
No release found

What it does and how it connects

kicad-claude-mcp is an MCP server with 105 tools that lets Claude Code or any MCP client drive a full KiCad PCB workflow from natural language: schematic capture, library indexing, PCB layout, autorouting, manufacturing outputs, signal integrity and RF calculations, thermal and EMC analysis, panelization, and SPICE simulation. It edits .kicad_sch, .kicad_pcb, and .kicad_pro files directly, and the README says the user opens KiCad only to review the result.

Requirements stated in the README are Python 3.10 or later with uv, KiCad 9.0 or 10.x with kicad-cli installed, and Java 21 or later for Freerouting autorouting. Optional extras are ngspice for SPICE simulation and DigiKey/Mouser API keys for live BOM enrichment.

Validation runs through KiCad itself: ERC and DRC shell out to kicad-cli, and the server supports custom DRC rules and fab presets such as JLCPCB. The example fab package includes Gerbers, drill files, placement, and a BOM with live distributor stock.

Alternatives

kicad-mcp (blwfish)
Presents a full agent driven workflow from description to manufacturing files with a large test suite, rather than a file editing tool count.
Difference source
Details
kicad-mcp (draganito)
Drives a running KiCad 10 editor over the IPC API on Debian/Ubuntu instead of editing project files directly.
Difference source
Details
mcp-kicad-sch-api
Covers schematic creation and manipulation only, with no PCB layout, routing, or fab export.
Difference source
Details
kicad-happy
Reviews and analyzes existing KiCad projects instead of editing schematics and boards.
Difference source
Details
KiStack
Ships as human written agent skills rather than an MCP server with a fixed tool list.
Difference source
Details

Not verified

  • License: the GitHub API returns no license and the license endpoint returns 404, so no license is stated.
  • No GitHub releases exist, so latest release fields are null.
  • No independent user voice found: the only recent issue is a maintainer pull request.
  • Pricing: none stated on the repo.
Back to AI tools

Last verified: 2026-11-02. Listings are informational and are not endorsements, rankings, or compatibility claims.